The Death Of Her Money
Spirit Of The Stairwell CD

1. Shit Shaped
2. Scandinavian Accent
3. Clap!
4. American Cemetary
5. Newport Scars
6. Falling Painting

The Death Of Her Money may not have a great name, but they do have a great sound. The trio from South Wales blend an appreciation for modern, heavy music together with an experimental edge to create a swirling, hypnotic maelstrom of repetitive, naturally grooving stoner-rock, kind of like Neurosis meets My Bloody Valentine meets Sonic Youth meets Can. The simplistic, rock-solid rhythmic base provides a launchpad for Kaskie's inventive, dense, discordant fretwork. "Spirit Of The Stairwell" is their debut CD album, with six tracks in 50 minutes, and follows on from self-released demos and a 7".

Released 27/02/08.


Co-released with:
Rat Patrol

The Death Of Her Money | Kaskie, Nicky, Ian | Bandcamp | Myspace

Weird band name, weird album title, weird artwork, weird song titles… but this shit is fucking awesome. "Spirit of the Stairwell" is the debut full-length from UK trio The Death of Her Money (released by the band, SuperFi Records, and Rat Patrol Records), which drops a mere six tracks in a whopping 50 minutes. This is seriously some of the most uniquely monolithic material I've ever heard. Sure, you could point to a few similarities or influences here and there, but the end result is pretty damn creative. There's some nasty feedback and a dense, destructive, fucking massive sense of crushing heaviness, but most of the riffs and rhythms are colored up with bizarre chord phrasings and incredible uses of abstract melody that really kick into some powerful, emotional surges throughout. I'd say the bulk of most of the tracks is made up of drawn out instrumental passages, but the occasional absence of the distant, hoarsely shouted vocals does little to deter the band's intensity or sense of feeling. The recording kicks ass, too. The bass is, of course, super dense - fluidly pulsing about beneath the surface - while the percussion is crisp and warm, and the guitars range from grungy, harshly overdriven textures to looser, jangly sounding clean tones (obviously accented by some of the looser playing/picking patterns) or swirling layering effects with dissonant swells of movement. I had no idea what to expect from this album whatsoever, but I was hooked in right off the bat. Great work, and definitely one to watch. I'm really impressed...